Soundview Executive Book Summaries


What’s More Relevant?
September 29, 2008, 12:50 PM
Filed under: Marketing | Tags:

As I sat down with my notes to write this post about a new book titled Relevance, I decided to hop over to Amazon to see what kind of write-up it had, since the publisher’s Web site had scant information. I searched for the book’s main title, without subtitle, and was confused when the most “relevant” search result was for another business book titled Relevance by David Apgar. I remembered this book crossing my desk earlier in the year, but then realized if I scrolled down the actual book I wanted was below due to publication releases. I found it interesting that 2 business books could come out in the same year with little physically separating them but their subtitles (Hitting Your Goals by Knowing What Matters versus Making Stuff That Matters) and authors.

 

The book I’m interested in discussing is Tim Manner’s September release of Relevance: Making Stuff That Matters, published by Portfolio. Amazon’s product description is intriguing: “After years studying remarkable companies and speaking to some of the most influential leaders around, Tim Manners has discovered a solution to the marketing woes of many brands. Stop worrying about demographics, fads, and cutting-edge advertising. Instead, focus on relevance.”

With examples from major brands like Kleenex, Staples, Levi’s, Nintendo and Dunkin Donuts, I have a feeling that this will be a compelling read. I see a trend of one-word best practices surfacing in business today, from transparency to sustainability, and relevance certainly has a place among them.

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

